Vuforia AR Workshop: Image Target

Our first AR workshop was a tutorial for setting up Unity to make a basic marker-based Augmented Reality app for Android using Vuforia. The app uses image targets, which are stored in the Vuforia database and once embedded into Unity it recognises the target and augments 2D & 3D multimedia content. In our case we used a 2D target to augmented a video once met with the physical copy of the image.

The steps for this tutorial can be found here.

We started by creating a 2D image target database in Vuforia and then added the database into unity:

License key -12Width is set to metres, so I measured the printout and divided 15cm by 100. (0.15)3.pngFor the rating system, the more lines and vertexes (geometrical/complex) the image is, the faster the system will identify it and therefore rate it higher.compiling databaseAfter selecting download database, I opted to open and import with Unity Editor. 7 (img from database)
After having downloaded and imported the database to Unity, I then created a 3D Quad under ImageTarget. Once added to the scene, I rotated and scaled the quad to fit inside the image target. Now in the quads inspector panel I selected Add Component and searched and selected ‘video player’. All that was left now was to drag and drop the video file into the video clip slot. Having the quad positioned on top of the target image meant that the video plays once the image target has been recognised. This was the result:


androidThe next stage involved exporting the app for android. To do this, I first I went into build settings and switched platform to android. I then selected ‘player settings’ which loaded a new window in the inspector panel and from there I change the Package Name to the standard android package format: “com.jedapp.Jed_AR_Project_1.” After this I changed the API level to .NET 2.0 and enable Vuforia Augmented Reality in XR settings. Lastly I found the pathways for my SDK directories and pasted them into directory in Unity and then built the app for Android. This gave me an .apk file which I exported to the tablet. 

IMG_20190301_125048.jpg

Leave a comment